Flotsam and jetsam (Labor Day edition)

I’m taking the day off today because it’s International Bacon Day! To celebrate, here’s a list of 8 essential bacon hacks. And, since it’s a holiday, here’s a completely random list of mostly worthless (but still fascinating) links). Don’t work too hard today. And, have some bacon.

  • Here are 18 Famous TV Roles Originally Played by Someone Else (Gilligan’s Island would have been completely different).

About Marc Cortez

Theology Prof and Dean at Western Seminary, husband, father, & blogger, who loves theology, church history, ministry, pop culture, books, and life in general.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. In regards to Egypt myths, I was curious about the non enslavement of Israel. I have only started to look into the issue. Is it flat out assumed that Israel wasnt there, or is there some chance the list is incorrect. I am guessing that the OT numbers or 1.6 million is probably off or misunderstood. Any good resources, that don’t “cook the books” when going into Isreal’s time, or lack of time, in Eygpt.

  2. I saw a docu about the Hebrew enslavement… I massive burial ground was found on the outskirts of Egypt where it is thought the Hebrew people were buried….this burial ground records the burials of the Hebrews for many centuries and then suddenly stops – which strongly supports the Exodus story.

  3. I was wondering if anyone would comment on that part of the list. Archeology isn’t my strong suit, so I can’t really comment on the specific data. I’m certainly going to go with the biblical narrative on this one and hold that the Israelites were in fact enslaved in Egypt. (This, by the way, isn’t a minor part of the narrative. Enslavement/redemption is central to Israelite self-identity in the OT.) Exactly how many Israelites were enslaved is a trickier questions. I haven’t figured out yet exactly how I’m going to handle the numbers reported in the OT, which frequently seem much higher than they should be.

  4. I know that Dr. Goldingay mentioned, in one of his lessons found on itunes, that he thought that the million was misinterpreted and that there were not millions of people. This would explain why there isn’t as much archeaological evidence for the exodus. Several million people leave a trail. Several hundred or a thousand, not so much.

    I have never heard, yet, of the burial sites in Egypt.

Leave a comment