My Favorite Posts of 2011

It never fails that the posts I like the best (and usually the ones I put the most time into) are never my most popular posts. So although it was fun putting together yesterday’s post on My Top Posts of 2011, those don’t necessarily represent my favorite posts. As a result, I decided that a different list was in order. So here you go.

10. When is an inerrancy debate not really about inerrancy?

This post gave me the chance to articulate some thoughts I’ve been playing with for quite a while on the doctrine of inerrancy and how it functions in evangelical debates. And I got to engage the Michael Licona controversy at the same time. Bonus.

9. Bait-and-switch evangelism

I had a great time writing this little reflection on my daughter’s Easter disaster and some of the questions it raises about our methods of evangelism.

8. Striving for Clarity and Charity in the Free Will Debate

This was a series that I did on the free will debate, and most importantly, trying to identify some ways that we can approach the debate more helpfully. I’m not sure that I succeeded, but I had a good time with it.

7. I teach theology. That means….

One of my quirkier posts of the year, this one looks at stereotypes surrounding those who teach theology. And, instead of trying to refute the stereotypes, I decided to embrace them. Yes, I teach theology. And that means….

6. Put the theology book down and do something that matters

This is the only post that managed to make both lists. And I’m glad people enjoyed this brief reflection on the fact that theology is an act of worship, and, therefore, theology is never a waste of time.

5. 5 things I learned about the Gospel from a serial killer

I wrote this one while I was just getting into the TV show Dexter. (I believe I was in season 2 at the time.) I loved the strong theological and anthropological themes in the show and how they relate to the gospel.  (I’m still enjoying the show, though I haven’t made it past season 3 yet.)

4. How to destroy your own research paper in one simple step (and other tips for the Th.M.)

The Tips for the Th.M. series is really about surviving and thriving as a Bible/theology grad student, which I started writing almost a year ago. And this particular post is probably my favorite of the bunch.

3. Charting church history and Charting church history from a baptist perspective

I had a great time with these two charts and the reactions they got. They really belong together since they’re both about poking a little fun at how we often view church history. And you should also check out the follow-up post on Charting church history from a Presbyterian perspective – or, what happens when church history is really misunderstood.

2. Please Don’t Look under the Bed!

Over the year I’ve posted quite a few excerpts from my gospel book (which, by the way, is now tentatively titled Good News for the Living Dead, thanks to your votes.) And looking back over those excerpts, I think this was my favorite.

1. What is Heresy?

 I had a blast with this series. I really enjoyed thinking through the nature of heresy and trying to come up with different ways of introducing each of the various views.

Thanks for taking the time to read my rather random thoughts on a variety of issues. It’s been a great year, and I’m looking forward to what’s coming in 2012. Stay tuned.

About Marc Cortez

Theology Prof and Dean at Western Seminary, husband, father, & blogger, who loves theology, church history, ministry, pop culture, books, and life in general.

Posted on December 27, 2011, in Misc. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. In your review of Adam and the Woman, you state the God curse his people. In my reading in
    Gen. 3:17, God curse the ground for Adam’s sake and he did it because he had hearkened (listen) to his wife and ate. Now he did caused Adam to have to work the ground to survive but in Gen 5:28-29, Lamech Noah’s father declared that at the birth of Noah, there would be comfort from the toil of their hands caused by the ground being cursed. Also, they were removed from the garden because God declared Man to like him (a god) in Gen 3:22. therefore, being in that state of being and then eating from the tree of life, he would not had left the garden. However, Adam’s purpose Gen 2:5 would to till the ground of the whole not the just the garden. In fact, the garden was a training place for him to learn his rightful job. In other words, what Adam did was that responsibly for was the woman had done, therefore, sacrificing himself for another Eph 5:23-32. Now, this thing that is called the Fall is actually the promotion of Adam to his rightful position. Believe it or not.

Leave a comment